• 2/2021: Bella – Strauss

    2/2021: Bella – Strauss

    Cover: Ľubomír Zabadal © A Lighthouse, 2019


    ČIERNA, Alena: Preface
    In: Slovenská hudba, Vol. 47, 2021, No. 2, pp. 101 – 102


    VESELÝ, Ondrej: How I Met Miro Bázlik
    In: Slovenská hudba, Vol. 47, 2021, No. 2, pp. 103 – 105

    DOI: 10.4149/SH_2021_2_1

    Hommage à Juraj Hatrík

    ČUNDERLÍKOVÁ, Eva: Remembering Juraj Hatrík
    In: Slovenská hudba, Vol. 47, 2021, No. 2, pp. 106 – 108

    DOI: 10.4149/SH_2021_2_2

    Hommage à Roman Berger

    JAKUBISOVÁ, Lucia: Life Journey of Roman Berger
    In: Slovenská hudba, Vol. 47, 2021, No. 2, pp. 109 – 112

    DOI: 10.4149/SH_2021_2_3


    ŠTRBÁK, Marek: Roman Berger – Exodus : Performance Analysis
    In: Slovenská hudba, Vol. 47, 2021, No. 2, pp. 113 – 140

    DOI: 10.4149/SH_2021_2_4

    The organ work Exodus written by the Slovak composer Roman Berger is one of the most extensive, monumental and significant compositions in the organ repertory. In it the author presented his life and composition philosophy embodied in a deep music meditation on weighty questions of the human existence. The study is a performance analysis of the piece. In its four sections the way of thinking is presented, used by the organist while facing the study and performance of the work. The study offers a personal view on registration, phrasing, articulation, solution of technical problems, preparation of difficult passages, expression and other aspects he/she is facing while forming their own performance.

    Roman Berger, organ, Exodus, performance analysis


    GODÁROVÁ, Zuzana – GODÁR, Vladimír: The Correspondence of Ján Levoslav Bella and Richard Strauss
    In: Slovenská hudba, Vol. 47, 2021, No. 2, pp. 141 – 188

    DOI: 10.4149/SH_2021_2_5

    In the course of several decades of the second half of the 19th century and the first half of the 20th century both Ján Levoslav Bella and Richard Strauss worked as musicians – composers and conductors – for German communities. Fourteen letters exchanged between them in the period of August 27, 1888 and January 29, 1912 have been preserved to this day, dealing mostly with practical problems arising in their work. The letters accompany the presentation of Richard Strauss’ cantata Wandrers Sturmlied, Op. 14 in Sibiu, Transylvania, under the baton of Ján Levoslav Bella, and the Eisenach (Germany) performance of Bella’s symphonic poem The Destiny and Ideal on April 25, 1890 conducted by Richard Strauss, and they shed light on both events. They represent in themselves a weighty evidence of the transformation of opinions on composer’s art and establish the ideal of programme music, which for both composers-Kapellmeisters stood for a revolutionary artistic concept. The preserved letters are published for the first time in their entirety and paralelly in both languages – original German and translated Slovak version.

    Ján Levoslav Bella, The Destiny and Ideal, Richard Strauss, Wandrers Sturmlied, correspondence


    KRUČAYOVÁ, Alena: Jana Kalinayová-Bartová a kolektív: Hudobné dejiny Bratislavy. Od stredoveku po rok 1918
    In: Slovenská hudba, Vol. 47, 2021, No. 2, pp. 189 – 191

    [The contribution is available only in Slovak language in the printed version of the revue.]